Outstanding scientists: Klaus Hallatschek (right) with other EURYI Winners

Isabella Milch

Physicist Dr. Klaus Hallatschek of the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP) in Garching is one of 24 outstanding young scientists from eleven European countries that have been honored with the European Young Investigator Award (EURYI Award) worth about one million euros each. The EURYI Award is intended to give young scientists the opportunity to set up their own groups of young investigators at European research institutions of their choice. Klaus Hallatschek (born in Augsburg in 1970) works on the theory of plasma turbulence. Infusion experiments it is possible to observe turbulent plasma states in which extensive shear fl ows, so-called zonal flows, develop from small disorderly eddies. Klaus Hallatschek has succeeded in describing such effects by means of powerful computers. From the determination of their dynamic properties he hopes to clarify their long-term behavior and the associated state changes of the turbulence.