The Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society has awarded the 2006 Hannes Alfven Prize to Dr. Paul- Henri Rebut, for his lasting contributions to fusion research. The prize will be presented on the first day of the Annual Conference of the EPS Plasma Physics Division in Rome on the 19th of June, 2006.