At its annual conference, held from June 27 – July 1 2011, the Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society continued its promotion of excellence in research by rewarding researchers who have achieved outstanding scientific or technological results.


The 2011 divisional Hannes Alfvén Prize was awarded to Patrick Diamond from the University of California and the National Fusion Research Institute in Korea, to Akira Hasegawa from Osaka University, Japan, and to Kunioki Mima, from the Graduate School for the Creation of New Photonics Industries at Kamamatsu, Japan, for “laying the foundations of modern numerical transport simulations and key contributions on self-generated zonal flows and flow shear decorrelation mechanisms which form the basis of modern turbulence in plasmas.”
The energy and particle transport associated with plasma turbulences is an important parameter for the confinement of a fusion plasma. Diamond, Hasegawa and Mima substantially advanced the development of simulations to predict turbulent transport. Their results have already been partly confirmed in tokamak and stellarator experiments and provide the basis for further developing prediction of transport in future fusion devices.
picture of awarding the Hannes Alfvén Prize 201
From left: Kunioki Mima, Akira Hasegawa, Patrick Diamond
and Carlos Hidalgo

The 2011 Plasma Physics Innovation Prize is awarded to Alexander Litvak from the Institute of Applied Physics of Russian Academy of Sciences, to Keishi Sakamoto from the Japan Atomic Energy Agency and to Manfred Kaspar Andreas Thumm from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology , Germany for “for outstanding contributions to the realisation of a high power gyrotron for multi-megawatt long-pulse electron cyclotron heating and current drive on magnetic confinement plasma devices “.
Electron-cyclotron resonance is a modern and efficient method for plasma heating and current drive. The systems are based on gyrotrons – very powerful microwave sources, which generate radiation at megawatt power levels and in long-pulse regimes. The teams led by Litvak, Sakamoto and Thumm contributed substantially to the theoretical and experimental research and innovation on high power, long pulse gyrotrons.
picture of 2011 Plasma Physics Innovation
From left: Keishi Sakamoto, Alexander Litvak
and Manfred Thumm

The EPS PhD Research Award is a key element to recognise the exceptional quality of work carried out by young scientists. In 2011 the judging committee gave awards to

Stefan Kneip, Imperial College, UK, for the investigation of laser generation of x-rays, including the study of electron acceleration in the bubble regime and experimental demonstration of self-guiding.

Julian Schulze,Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany, for his research on electron heating in capacitively coupled radio frequency discharges, including contributions on electrical asymmetry effects affecting ion energy distribution.

Mierk Schwabe, Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany, for her research on dynamical effects in complex plasmas studying phenomena ordinarily described by fluid dynamics at the level of individual particles.
picture of the winners of the EPS PhD Research Award 2011
From left: Julian Schulze, Mierk Schwabe and Stefan Kneip

Carlos Hidalgo, Chair EPS Plasma Physics Division

More information: