During the meeting which took place in october 2010 in lisbon, the EFDA steering committee appointed new leaders and chairs for most of the task forces and topical groups. Here we introduce the new chairs of the transport topical group. in the next issue we will continue with the plasma wall interaction and integrated tokamak Modelling task forces.


Clemente Angioni

I hope that the EFDA Transport Topical Group, which promotes collaborations towards the achievement of important research goals, will be a helpful organisation for my colleagues in the European fusion transport community.

picture of Clemente Angioni

Obtained his PhD degree at CRPP, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland, under the supervision of Olivier Sauter at the end of 2001. His research was then dedicated to the neoclassical transport and electron heat transport modelling in plasmas of the EPFL tokamak TCV as well as the integrated modelling of sawtooth oscillation in both TCV and JET plasmas. After his PhD, he completed a Post Doc on experimental and theoretical aspects of particle and heat transport at IPP Garching, Germany, with a Marie Curie Individual Fellowship supervised by A.G. Peeters. Since 2004, he has been working as a staff scientist in the theory division at IPP Garching. In 2008, he became Vice Chair of the EFDA Transport Topical Group.

Vice Chairs:

Volker Naulin

I consider the most important task of the Topical Groups to be bringing together the expertise of the outstanding, excellent researchers we have in Europe, with the aim of more efficiently tackling the many open questions along the path towards a working fusion power plant.

picture of Volker Naulin

studied theoretical physics at Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf, Germany, working on structure formation in magnetised plasmas. In 1996 he transferred to Risø National Laboratories, Denmark, under a Marie Curie Fellowship where he joined the fusion plasma activities, and became a Senior Scientist two years later. He has been teaching at universities in Kiel, Innsbruck, Nancy, Düsseldorf, and at the Danish Technical University. Under the Sino Danish agreement for graduate education he is responsible for educational activities on the subject of “Fusion Energy”. Dr Naulin’s work focuses on plasma turbulence and transport using numerical simulations. He is active in the fields of structure formation, drift-turbulence, and turbulence spreading. He is primarily interested in the interaction between edge and scrape-off layer plasma and has developed several numerical codes to simulate plasma turbulence in the edge gradient region and the scrape-off layer. In 2003 he became Deputy and, subsequently, Leader of the EFDA JET Task Force Transport. He is a reviewer for numerous funding bodies and member of the scientific committees of several international conferences.

Paola Mantica

The Transport Topical Group aims to promote joint work on a few key issues and create a lively environment for collaborations and discussions, even beyond the European context, in order to guide the individual initiative of each scientist towards the common goal.

picture of Paola Mantica

started researching into plasma physics in 1985 at the “Istituto di Fisica del Plasma”, National Research Council (IFP-CNR), in Milano, Italy. Her work was dedicated to experimental studies of transport processes in plasmas. Her particular interests lay in the application of perturbative methods to the study of electron heat transport and the development of the associated analysis and modelling methodology. She has worked on several tokamaks, i.e. THOR (Italy), DITE (UK), RTP (The Netherlands), AUG (Germany) and JET (UK). In 2003, she became a Senior Researcher at IFP-CNR. Since 2000, she has also been working intensively on JET, coordinating several experiments on heat and momentum transport of electrons and ions. Between 2001 and 2004 she was Deputy Leader of the EFDA-JET Transport Task Force and was Leader from 2004 to 2007. In 2008, she became one of the EU representatives in the Transport & Confinement Group of the International Tokamak Physics Activity (ITPA). She currently coordinates work on scenario simulations for design activity of the FAST satellite tokamak. She has been Chair of the EFDA Remote Participation User Group since 2009.