Academician Evgeny P. Velikhov (Russia), Dr Yoshikawa Masaji (Japan) and Dr Robert Aymar (France) were awarded the “Global energy” prize (known as the “Russian Nobel”) in 2006 for the development of scientific and engineering foundation of the ITER project. Global Energy International Prize is a unique award intended to assist international cooperation in solving the most important problems of today in the fi eld of power generation.

The formal award ceremony for the 2006 prize took place on 13 June in St Petersburg. The winners received the prize from the President of Russia, Vladimir Putin, who said:

“As far as I know, this is the first time that a collective (Global Energy) prize has been awarded. Dear gentlemen, this confirms the unique value of your joint scientific research.”