The 65th meeting of the Section for Transport, Energy, Infrastructure and the Information Society (TEN) of the European Economic and Social Committee was held at JET in the Culham Science Centre on 23th and 24th November 2005.

The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) is a non-partisan body that gives representatives of Europe’s organised civil society interest groups, and others, a formal platform to express their points of views on EU issues. The competences of the committee arise from the EC treaty. Its opinions are forwarded to the larger institutions – the Council, the Commission and the European Parliament. It thus plays a key role in the Union’s decision-making process.

49 members of the Section, including the President Alexander-Michael Graf von Schwerin, were welcomed to the JET site by Dr. Jérôme Paméla, EFDA Associate Leader for JET, and Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith FRS Director, UKAEA Culham Division. Following two presentations on fusion, a general discussion was held with the participation of leaders of JET scientific taskforces, Dr. Wojtek Fundamenski, Dr. Thierry Loarer, Dr. Jef Ongena, Dr. Xavier Litaudon and Dr. Paola Mantica. Dinner in the JET foyer was followed by a tour of the JET facilities, including a visit to the flywheel generators, Torus hall and Remote Handling facility.

The Sections meeting was held the following day in the Hans-Otto Wüster room. It was the first time in almost 20 years that a meeting with simultaneous language translation was held at JET, reviving the translation booths for their original purpose.