Eleven outstanding scientists receive EUROfusion Researcher Grants

The EUROfusion consortium for the realisation of fusion energy has awarded eleven EUROfusion Researcher Grants (ERG) to talented post-doctoral researchers across Europe. The ERG grants enable early-career researchers to develop innovative ideas and techniques to advance EUROfusion's Roadmap to Fusion Energy.


Fusion energy holds the promise of providing safe, sustainable and low-carbon baseload energy that complements other clean energy sources like solar and wind. Realising fusion means solving many science, engineering and technology challenges in a comprehensive research programme. In Europe, the EUROfusion research consortium takes up the fusion challenge with its strongly goal-oriented Roadmap to Fusion Energy. By involving excellent young scientists and their innovative ideas in its research, EUROfusion accelerates its progress towards developing the demonstration fusion power plant DEMO.

ERG grants: supporting excellent fusion researchers

The EUROfusion Researcher Grants programme supports excellent scientists at the post-doctoral level in their career development. As Europe's fusion research community, EUROfusion is highly committed to developing a workforce capable of solving the physics and engineering challenges towards a fusion power plant.

EUROfusion’s governing body, the General Assembly approved the eleven highest-scoring proposals out of forty submissions to receive an ERG grant in its May meeting.

The ERG selection was based on the recommendations of the nine experts in the ERG evaluation panel. ERG recipients will dive into topics such as understanding the plasma edge and energy bursts it may send to the inner wall of the tokamak, the interplay between turbulence and fast particles in the plasma, finding optimal materials for the plasma exhaust and more.

The ERG grants cover the salaries of the selected candidates and part of the cost of their research activities and missions for a duration of up to 2 years. EUROfusion will fund 70% of recipients' salaries, with the remainder covered by the host institutions (Beneficiaries). Out of the 40 eligible applicants, 25% (10/40) are female, as are 21% (4/15) of the candidates invited for an interview and 18% (2/11) of the grantees.

The granted research projects are:

  • Impact of the beryllium first-wall temperature on the dynamic retention and outgassing of hydrogen isotopes in JET-ILW (ITER-like wall) and ITER pre-fusion operation
    Julien Denis, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Aix Marseille University, PIIM Laboratory, France
  • Non-Linear Hybrid Kinetic-MHD (magnetohydrodynamic) Plasma Response to Externally Applied 3D Non-Axisymmetric Fields
    Scott Doyle, University of Seville, Spain
  • Study of Trapped Decay Waves in Electron Cyclotron Resonance Heating Experiments
    Riccardo Ragona, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark
  • Development and Validation of Quench and AC loss models for High Temperature Superconducting Cable-In-Conduit Conductors for the EU-DEMO Central Solenoid
    Andrea Zappatore, Agenzia nazionale per le nuove tecnologie, l’energia e lo sviluppo economico sostenibile (ENEA), Italy
  • The role of magnetized sheaths in fusion devices
    Alessandro Geraldini, École Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne EPFL, Swiss Plasma Center (EPFL-SPC), Switzerland
  • Artificial intelligence in support of hydrogen separation membranes for DEMO tokamak exhaust
    Christopher Stihl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Wall conditioning development and PSI (plasma surface interaction) studies on the upgraded TOMAS machine in view of superconducting fusion devices
    Andrei Goriaev, Ecole Royale Militaire - Koninklijke Militaire School, Plasma Physics Laboratory (LPP-ERM/KMS), Belgium
  • A combined modelling/experimental approach for determination of species dependence of impurity retention in the island divertor of Wendelstein 7-X
    Victoria Winters, Max Planck Institute of Plasma Physics (IPP), Germany
  • GENE-Tango: Development and application of a new integrated modelling tool for supra-thermal particle effects on turbulent transport
    Alessandro di Siena, Max Planck Institute of Plasma Physics (IPP), Germany
  • The physics of small ELMs (edge-localised modes) - A multi-machine approach
    Georg Harrer, Austrian Academy of Sciences (OEAW), Austria
  • Fast Particle modelling in fusion plasma and surrounding materials
    Lucia Sanchis, Aalto University, Finland

Media questions:

For press inquiries, please contact media-inquiries(at)euro-fusion.org.