Leading European research organisations team up in EIROforum

archived | Press releases
EUROfusion was established in 2014 to succeed the European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA). This article stems from EFDA times and may be outdated.

EIROforum will be formally established today with the signature of the Directors General of the seven, European intergovernmental research organisations.


Last year, at the suggestion of European Research Commissioner Philippe Busquin, seven of Europe's leading intergovernmental research organisations set up a high-level co­ ordination and collaboration group, known as EIROforum. They include CERN (particle physics), EMBL (molecular biology), ESA (space activities), ESO (astronomy and astrophysics), ESRF (synchrotron radiation), ILL (neutron source) and EFDA (fusion). After careful preparations, these organisations will seal their partnership with the formal signing of a common EIROforum Charter during the EU-conference on "European Research 2002 -The European Research Area and the Framework Programme".


"The establishment of EIROFORUM is a concrete example of the dynamic created by the European Research Area. Europe has unquestioned excellence in science. By working together, Europe's leading research organisations can make that more visible on the European and world stage," comments EC Research Commissioner Philippe Busquin.

As world leaders within their respective fields of science, the seven member organisations of the EIROforum constitute the vanguard of European science, proving that European scientists can be competitive at the forefront of research. These organisations have a vital role to play in the future of European research.

The EIROforum directly involves tens of thousands of European scientists and indirectly

reaches many more. It mobilises resources to play an active and constructive role in promoting the quality and impact of European Research.


In addition to the many scientific discoveries and technological innovations which are accomplished at each organisation every year, the EIROforum members provide world­ class infrastructures and key services to Europe's scientists, conduct important training activities, and are focal points for public interest in science. They have significant experience in integrating national and international levels and serve as models for finding European solutions to specific research problems.


The first joint initiatives have already resulted in an important impact in the areas of Outreach and Education. High-profile activities have involved thousands of European science teachers and students, thus emphatically supporting Europe-wide efforts to raise


interest in science and technology and to secure a sound recruitment base for European

R&D efforts in the future.


Collaboration in the area of human resources also have a bearing on the European Research Area: by attracting and retaining world-class researchers in Europe, through technological exchange and common development, and by organising multi-disciplinary scientific conferences, etc.


Finally, EIROforum will become active in the area of GRID computing and technology development, especially with respect to advanced detectors.

In this sense, the establishment of this forum pools the substantial expertise of each member organisation in basic research and in the management of large international

projects, combining them into a strategy for the wider benefit of European research and development.


The seven organizations, represented in EIROforum:

  • European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
  • European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA)
  • European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
  • European Space Agency (ESA)
  • European Southern Observatory (ESO)
  • European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF)
  • Institut Laue-Langevin (Ill)

EIROforum Members

  • Prof. Colin Carlile, Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL)
  • Dr. Catherine Cesarsky (Chair), European Southern Observatory (ESO)
  • Prof. Fotis C. Kafatos, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
  • Prof. Luciano Maiani, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
  • Dr. Jerome Pamela, European Fusion Development Agreement (EFDA-JET)
  • Dr. Antonio Rodota, European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Prof. William G. Stirling, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF)