Posted on: 9th August 2017

EUROfusion, the ‘European Consortium for the Development of Fusion Energy’, manages and funds European fusion research activities on behalf of Euratom.

Thirty members*, representing 26 European Union member states plus Switzerland and Ukraine, signed the agreement of the EUROfusion consortium. In addition about 150 Third Parties** contribute to the research activities through the Consortium members. EUROfusion collaborates with Fusion for Energy (Spain) and intensively supports the ITER International Organization (France).

EUROfusion funds fusion research activities in accordance with the Roadmap to the realisation of fusion energy. The Roadmap outlines the most efficient way to realise fusion electricity. It is the result of an analysis of the European Fusion Programme undertaken in 2012 by the Research laboratories within EUROfusion’s predecessor agreement, the European Fusion Development Agreement, EFDA.

In the 1970s, Europe’s leading fusion laboratories joined forces to build and operate the Joint European Torus, JET. Since then a growing number of labs have been continuously developing their collaboration to coordinate research activities beyond JET. To this end the parties formed the European Fusion Development Agreement, EFDA in 1999. Since 2014 the EUROfusion consortium takes this collaboration another step further.

*Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Ukraine and United Kingdom.

**The majority of Third Parties are Universities followed by laboratories and industry.