Posted on: 10th December 2016

Greece has been contributing to the European fusion program since 1999, and research teams from the following Research Centres and Institutions of Higher Education contribute EUROfusion: NCSR “Demokritos” , School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, National Technical University of Athens, Department of Physics, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Thessaly, Department of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Department of Physics, University of Ioannina, Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser of the Foundation for Research and Technology , and Technical University of Crete.

Some of the EUROfusion Work Packages that research teams from the Hellenic Fusion Research Unit work on:
• Experimental data and simulation data comparison concerning intrinsic rotation in JET
• Investigation of Plasma-facing components for ITER
• Technological exploitation of DT operation for the ITER preparation
• Participation in the experimental data analysis in TCV and ASDEX-U
• Assessment of alternative divertor geometries and liquid metals PFCs
• Heating and current drive systems